Newport Beach DUI Attorney
Arrested for a DUI in Newport Beach?
Driving under the influence (DUI) laws in California are strict and aggressively enforced by law enforcement throughout Newport Beach. Anyone driving in the state with .08% or higher blood alcohol content (BAC) can be arrested or charged with DUI. Most of the time, officers and prosecutors will attempt to convict anyone who has been arrested for a DUI. It is critical that you retain a reliable Newport Beach DUI attorney who can thoroughly investigate your case and create a solid defense strategy on your behalf.
What Are the Penalties for CA DUI?
Penalties for a California DUI can vary contingent upon the details of your arrest and your convictions will affect subsequent convictions for all DUIs within 10 years of one another. This is all the more reason to get in touch with an attorney who can aggressively fight your charges.
DUI penalties can include the following:
- 1st DWI—4 days to 6 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines
- 2nd DWI—10 days to 1 year in jail and up to $1,800 in fines
- 3rd DWI—120 days to 1 year in jail and up to $1,800 in fines
- 4th DWI (felony)—16 months in jail and up to $18,000 in fines.
In addition to these punishments, your driver's license will be suspended for an increasing length of time with subsequent convictions. Further, after your first DUI, you will be forced by the court to install an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle at your expense. This device keeps you from driving while intoxicated by requiring a breath sample to start your car.
Will You Lose Your License?
Once you are arrested for a DUI, your license will be taken and you will be given a temporary license good for only 30 days. Within 10 days of your arrest you must schedule a DMV Hearing to dispute your license suspension. Failing to schedule that hearing will result in loss of your license after the 30 days.
At your DMV Hearing it is very important to have strong legal counsel from an aggressive Newport Beach criminal defense attorney to challenge any evidence against you so as to stop your license suspension. Losing your license could result in large fines, possible loss of employment and increased insurance rates, among other consequences.
Why Work With Attorney Hughes?
- Top Attorneys in Southern California by Los Angeles Magazine in 2012
- Superb Rated lawyer on Avvo
- Preeminent Client Rating on Martindale-Hubbell®
- Published a DUI handbook
- Included in the 2015 list of Super Lawyers® Rising StarsSM
Mr. Hughes can detail out the information that you need to know before entering in legal proceedings - let him defend your rights today!
Field Sobriety Test Accuracy
Officers can conduct a traffic stop on anyone they believe to be driving erratically or in some unsafe manner which they believe may be as a result of intoxication. Once stopped, a person is normally given a field sobriety test, where they are given certain standardized tests to perform which can indicate impaired motor control skills.
These tests of physical ability and awareness are meant to reveal signs of inebriation, but they allow room for error. Do not take these results as absolute truth with no way out. Get in touch with an attorney immediately following your arrest and do not give a statement to any law enforcement, despite what they say.
Strong Defense Against Your Newport Beach DUI Charges
When facing DUI charges you may be worried and anxious about the consequences. When you retain the Law Offices of Scott D. Hughes, you can be confident that you will receive individualized personal attention and dedicated legal counsel. Attorney Hughes will always handle your case personally, fighting for your rights from the beginning of your case through to its resolution.