First DUI Offense
Newport Beach DUI Defense Lawyer
If you have been arrested for a
DUI in Newport Beach, Irvine,
Huntington Beach, or anywhere in Orange County, California, and this is your first offense,
you are probably wondering what will happen to you, your car, your driving
privileges, and your future. You may think all hope is lost and that your
life is in ruins. There are many steps you must take after a first DUI
offense. Paramount among them is to place your case in the hands of a
skilled legal professional who deals with California DUI cases. It is
strongly recommended that you contact the Newport Beach criminal defense
attorney at the firm. Attorney Scott D. Hughes can provide competent and
aggressive representation that may reduce your fines, fees, and other
After a first DUI arrest, you have 10 days to contact the
DMV for a hearing to help avoid an automatic
license suspension. If you do not contact the DMV, you will have waived your right to a hearing
and your license will automatically be suspended in 30 days for a period
of 4 months. Under certain criteria, you can obtain a restricted license
allowing you to drive to and from work and alcohol classes. The Newport
Beach DUI defense lawyer at the firm can assist you in obtaining this.
Once you have placed your case in the hands of a capable DUI attorney,
such as Newport Beach DUI defense lawyer Scott D. Hughes, he will investigate
your case, looking for issues which can be used to challenge the prosecution.
In order for you to be convicted, the prosecutor must prove your guilt
beyond a shadow of a doubt. Your DUI attorney can challenge the performance
of a field sobriety test done by a police officer as well as the accuracy
or reliability of any chemical test done. He can also challenge the police
officer's account of your physical appearance or driving pattern.
There are many possible defenses in
fighting a DUI.
Are you facing a first DUI offense?
Contact the Newport Beach DUI defense attorney
at the firm immediately!