Newport Beach DUI Attorney
Driving under the influence (DUI) laws in California are strict and aggressively enforced by law enforcement throughout Newport Beach. In 2010, there were over 195,000 arrests for drunk driving in the state, which has caused law officers to be more on the lookout for those they suspect to be intoxicated. Anyone driving in the state with .08% or higher blood alcohol content (BAC) can be arrested or charged with DUI.
Out of all the arrests, the average BAC level for those that ended up convicted was at .15 percent. Most of the time, officers and prosecutors will attempt to convict anyone and everyone who has been arrested for a DUI. For many cases of drivers with a lower alcohol concentration, it seems unfair to judge all them on the same scale as those high above the legal limit.
Officers can conduct a traffic stop on anyone they believe to be driving erratically or in some unsafe manner which they believe may be as a result of intoxication. Once stopped, a person is normally given a field sobriety test, where they are given certain standardized actions to perform which can indicate impaired motor control skills. These tests of physical ability and awareness are meant to reveal signs of inebriation, but they allow room for error. Do not take these results as absolute truth with no way out. Get in touch with an attorney immediately following your arrest and do not give a statement to any law enforcement, despite what they say.
What happens after my arrest?
Once you are arrested for a DUI, your license will be taken and you will be given a temporary license good for only 30 days. Within 10 days of your arrest you must schedule a DMV Hearing to dispute your
license suspension. Failing to schedule that hearing will result in loss of your license after the 30 days. At your
DMV Hearing it is very important to have strong legal counsel to challenge any evidence against you so as to stop your license suspension. Losing your license could result in large fines, possible loss of employment and increased insurance rates, among other consequences.
What penalties can a DUI conviction bring?
Penalties for a California DUI can vary contingent upon the details of your arrest and your convictions will affect subsequent convictions for all DUIs within 10 years of one another. This is all the more reason to get in touch with an attorney who can aggressively fight your charges.
DUI penalties can include the following:
- First conviction—4 days to 6 months in jail and up to $1,000 in fines
- Second conviction—10 days to 1 year in jail and up to $1,800 in fines
- Third conviction—120 days to 1 year in jail and up to $1,800 in fines
- Fourth (felony) conviction—16 months in jail and up to $18,000 in fines.
In addition to these punishments, your driver's license will be suspended for an increasing length of time with subsequent convictions. Further, after your first DUI, you will be forced by the court to install an Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle at your expense. This device keeps you from driving while intoxicated by requiring a breath sample to start your car.
Strong Defense Against Your DUI Charges
When facing DUI charges you may be worried and anxious about the consequences. When you retain the Law Offices of Scott D. Hughes, you can be confident that you will receive individualized personal attention and dedicated legal counsel who will work hard to get you through this difficult time. Attorney Hughes will always handle your case personally, fighting for your rights from the beginning of your case through to its resolution.
Having been named one of the Top Attorneys in Southern California by Los Angeles Magazine in 2012, he is known for his work in the legal field. Writing a DUI handbook that was published in 2011, Mr. Hughes details out the information that you need to know before entering in legal proceedings for driving under the influence. He shares useful information that police officers do not want you as the accused to know in these kinds of cases.
For an aggressive defense against your DUI charges in Huntington Beach, Newport Beach and Orange County, contact our office today.